Australia Announces Squad For The First Test Against Pakistan; Lance Morris Included

Australia Cricket Team | Image source @theguardian

Australia Cricket Team has announced the squad for the first Test against Pakistan. The Pat Cummins-led side will be hosting Pakistan for a three-match series. The series will be part of the ICC World Test Championship and both teams would be eager to make an impact. 

The first game of the AUS vs PAK series will be played on 14th December in Perth. Following that it’ll be time for the boxing Test which will be played at MCG on 26th December. The last game of the series will be played in Sydney from 3rd January. 

Australia have added young pacer Lance Morris to the squad. It is likely that he will make his debut in the series. The pacer has a great track record as, in 22 Tests, the fast bowler speedster has picked up 74 scalps at 25.44. 

Apart from this, Nathan Lyon is also back in the squad having missed a few Tests of Ashes 2023 due to an ankle injury. Scott Boland will also be in the team. What caught the attention of many Cricket Australia have named Alex Carey as the only keeper in the team. 

Also Read: PAK vs AUS: PCB Announces New Batting Coach of Pakistan Men’s Team Ahead of Australia Tour

Alex Carey owing to his poor form has lost his place in the Team. However, it’ll be a if boost for him that he got the backing of selectors in the AUS vs PAK. The rest of the squad is filled up with pretty familiar names with Mitchell Marsh and Cameron Green being two all-rounders. 

Usman Khawaja and David Warner will be the two openers. The focus will be on the latter as it potentially will be his last Test series. He recently said that the Sydney Test will be his last. He would be hoping to end his career on high. 

AUS vs PAK: Australia squad for the first Test against Pakistan 

WTC Final: Australia are clear favourites to win WTC Final, Ravi Shastri refuses
Image Source: ICC

AUS vs PAK: Here’s Australia squad for the first Test against Pakistan: 

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *