Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli To Take Part In Intra-squad Game Ahead Of India Vs South Africa Test Series

Image Source: Google

IND vs SA: Indian captain Rohit Sharma and his mate Virat Kohli are set to feature in a three-day intra-squad match ahead of the commencement of the India vs South Africa Test Series. The two will be seen gearing up for the 2-match test challenge along with their other team-mates in South Africa.

The three-day intra-squad match is scheduled to be held between December 20 and 22. Meanwhile, the India vs South Africa test series will begin on Boxing Day.

Talking about the highlights of India’s Test squad, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has completely phased out the veterans of the game – Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara.

In place of the seniors, the Indian Cricket Board has entrusted the youngsters to fulfil the job. The likes of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Ishan Kishan have been included in the side.

In the bowling department, young Mukesh Kumar has been given the opportunity to showcase his skills in the longest format of the sport. Meanwhile, the availability of Mohammad Shami is subject to his fitness. The pacer is currently undergoing medical treatment, confirmed the BCCI.

The India tour of South Africa will begin on December 10 with a three-game T20I series. The T20I leg of the series will be followed by three ODI fixtures, starting December 17 and to conclude the all-format tour, India and South Africa will lock horns in the two-match test series, starting December 26.

The India vs South Africa test series will be a part of the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle.

Below is Team India’s complete itierenary for the tour of South Africa:

Date Match Venue
10-Dec-23 1st T20I Durban
12-Dec-23 2nd T20I Gqeberha
14-Dec-23 3rd T20I Johannesburg
17-Dec-23 1st ODI Johannesburg
19-Dec-23 2nd ODI Gqeberha
21-Dec-23 3rd ODI Paarl
26-Dec-23 to 30-Dec-23 1st Test Centurion
03-Jan-24 to 07-Jan-24 2nd Test Cape Town

India’s Squad for the South Africa Series

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul (wk), Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna. 

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Sai Sudharsan, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

ALSO READ: IPL 2024: BCCI announce November 30 as Player Registration deadline for IPL 2024 Auction, Over 700 cricketers expected

Visit the ICC’s OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *