Andre Russell Returns To The West Indies Squad For The T20I Series Against England

WI vs ENG: Andre Russell Returns to the West Indies Squad | Image Credit: ICC

WI vs ENG: Andre Russell Returns to the West Indies Squad for the T20I Series against England: The Cricket West Indies (CWI) announces the squad for the five-match T20I series against England. The Star All-Rounder Andre Russell returns to the West Indies Team after two years whereas Rovam Powell will be leading the T20I side in this series.

Andre Russell is added to the squad as the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled in June 2024 and all the teams have very less time to test their bench strength and prepare themselves for the upcoming mega event.

The Cricket West Indies named Rovman Powell as a new captain whereas Shai Hope will be the vice-captain of the West Indies T20I Team. This series is going to be very important for the West Indies as they are playing against a strong side on their home soil before the T20 World Cup 2024.

Some of the key players like Jason Holder, Wicket-keeper Nicholas Pooran, Nicholas Pooran and Kyle Mayers are present in the T20I squad. Sherfane Rutherford will come back in the T20I squad after 2020 whereas some young players like Matthew Forde are added to the team.

This 15-Members Squad has a balance between young and experienced players, which is a great combination in T20I cricket. It will be exciting to watch, how all these players will perform in the five-match T20I series against England on their home soil.

The First T20I match between West Indies and England is scheduled to be played on December 13, 2023, at Kensington Oval Cricket Ground, Bridgetown, Barbados. The Second and Third match is scheduled on 14 and 16 December, 2023 whereas the Fourth and Fifth match is scheduled on December 20 and 22.

The First T20I match will start at 3:30 AM whereas the Second and Third matches will start at 11:00 PM. The Fourth and Fifth match will start from 1:30 AM, all the cricket fans from Worldwide can enjoy this exciting series between these two teams.

WI vs ENG, West Indies Squad for T20I Series:

West Indies T20I Squad: Rovman Powell (Captain), Shai Hope, Andre Russell, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Sherfane Rutherford.

Read This Also: Jay Shah denies giving assurance on whether Rohit Sharma will captain the team in the T20 World Cup 2024

For More, Check The Official Site: ICC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *